Nokia Maps – Make Your N73 A Map Even Without GPS

 

nokia-maps.jpg

Nokia maps is an application developed for those who travel a lot. It is GPS compatible so it’s a good thing to have a GPS receiver but even if you don’t have one, you can still use this application. It just won’t tell you where you are.

Installation Process:

1. Download Nokia Maps

2. Download Nokia Map Loader

3. Install Nokia Maps on your phone

4. Install Nokia Map Loader

5. Connect your phone in mass-storage mode or use a card reader

6. Upload the maps on your phone

7. Enjoy!!!

sis1.jpg

All Required Downloads

30 Responses

  1. […] Here’s another interesting post I read today by bedobela […]

  2. Nokia Map Loader only works on Windows, needs .net framework, and if you add a new map the map loader deletes all your existing maps so you’ll have to download them all over again.

    But you don’t need Nokia Map Loader! http://nokiamaps.moo.no links to all maps on Nokia’s smart2go server. Works with any browser on any operating system, including Mac and Linux. No need to install anything on your computer, so it works when you’re in a hotel, school, at work, or in an internet cafe.
    If your phone talks WiFi or 3G you can add and update maps from your phone’s web browser without even touching a computer.

    Maps for Nokia Maps without using Nokia Map Loader: http://nokiamaps.moo.no

  3. LOL. Don’t tell me you’ve downloaded them all…

    I don’t have time to try these but I don’t trust sites like this though(ones with no comments from actual users)…sorry if it really works:)
    If someone actually tries this procedure please tell me about its authenticity.

    Thanks.

  4. i have tried both methods and failed to get nokia maps working on my phone N73 updated to current firmware v4.0736.3.2.1 and also new version of pc suit.

    i downloaded a 106.2mb file (maps for Australia) which included the maps (104mb) and voice guidance (2.2mb) and still it doesn’t work.

    above bedobela and 666 mention nokia map loader. i used it to download maps and voice to memory card (2gb). prior to this i ran nokia maps from my phone once as suggested to create the directories. still nothing.

    666’s suggested to try smart2go method. long and painstaking method also did not achieve any results.
    If anyone can help it will be greatly appreciated.

    • dude just wait sometime too work..
      probably u just try standing outside in open network..
      works or me tat way..

      cheers to all..
      darshan..

  5. Does it work at all? I mean you can un Nokia Maps but no map will appear right?

    That’s the same problem I had once…The solution was to start everything over again and it worked.

    if you have FW v4.0736.3.2.1, you should have Nokia Maps preinstalled so you can’t uninstall it. Just try running the map loader again and see if it works(don’t forget to connect you phone in mass storage mode).

    PS: It would be the best to format your memory card before…maybe it has some problems.

  6. this ofcourse works u just have to install the nokia maps from in ur memory cards and use is once without the maps…..and den intall the maps….

    chk out the official site of nokia :

    http://europe.nokia.com/A4509291

  7. good

  8. this msg is out of this topic but still i need to tell ya guyz sumthing

    well….
    i can’t sign any app for ma F*** Nokia N73 :@. if here’s someone who can help me withit i can give ’em my symbiansigned.com id + password
    if someone can help me do contact me on this addy shysoul123@gmail.com

    i’ll be waiting !!!!

  9. Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii,
    Finally i got it how to work on n73 without gps!!!
    THE TRICK IS VERY SIMPLE :
    JUST USE THE “ZOOM IN” TOOL IN THE NOKIA MAPS,
    but here is step by step
    1.On u n73 you got preinstaled nokia maps right,
    2.Download from OFFICIAL nokia site map loader on your PC(its about 13.5 mb),
    3.Than install map loader on your PC(it require dotnet 3.0)
    I wait about 30min to finished downloading of dot net,
    4.Run map loader on ur PC,
    5.Connect your phone via usb,
    6.Download some map whatever you like and install,
    7.Finally open nokia maps on your device and when you
    see the empty screen just use ZOOM :
    OPTIONS/MAP OPTIONS/ZOOM IN,and thats it!!!
    100% work on my n73,if u have questions just write i will try to help.

  10. why i connect my phone to the pc, but the map loader cannot detect my phone.It show waiting for device.

  11. You have to connect it in mass storage mode…that way it will recognize the phone or if you have the newest PC Suite, it has an option in the main window which can make it work without having you connect your phone in mass storage mode.

  12. I have a nokia n73 ME.But i don’t know how to use nokia maps in it.If someone knows it,please help me to solve this problem. N.B.-I don’t have a PC

  13. Hi there..i’ve already installed nokia maps in my phone and nokia map loader into my PC..but when i tried to download the map from nokia map loader,,,its just blinking Retrieving download catalog to drive E: at Nokia N73….what should i do then..can you hel pme…

  14. @tanvir

    Just read my post and you will find out how to install maps. After that it’s a piece’a cake.

    @ ayu

    Try to format your memory card and it might work. Other then that I don’t know what can be wrong. Try formatting and if it still doesn’t work please tell me…

  15. I have installed India map on my n73 with nokia maps 1.2 i formatted the memory card and intalled maps. It works fine when i open nokia maps on my n73 but next time i open it nokia maps just show a green picture no maps are displayed please HAELP!!!
    Thanks in advance

  16. I have a n73 music with firmware 4.0736.3.2.1 i have want to install nokia maps 2.0 on my phone but when i try to install my phone says unable to install
    Date is correct
    No memory card problem since i have formatted it
    please help me
    THANKS IN ADVANCE

  17. N73 Lover – I had the same problem too but didn’t look for a solution since I like Nokia maps 1 more…it’s more complete. I’ll post a reply if I find any solution.

  18. Andyta – Retry the whole process and it will probably work. That’s what I did cause I had the same problem too.

  19. how do i upload the maps on my n73 music edition

  20. With Nokia map loader. Just download, install and connect via mass storage mode. And done.

  21. Hi. I am from bangladesh. I have an N73me. I had nokia maps working on fw 4.0812.4.2.1 now i’ve installed maps 2.0 and it’s not working (doesn’t run at all).someone help please.thanks

  22. hi, well, im done with trying installation of nokia maps, im from mexico and i’ve download the latest version of the pc suite and the map loader but when in map loader i download the map of my country and its downloaded, 2 questions
    how to install the new downloaded map for its use and how i see it on my display because i only see a brown display and it never changes
    any help you can give me please, thanks

    sorry about my english its not so well

    • hey mexican guy.. doon worry abt ur english..
      try istalling the new maps in ur map folder of o f nokia maps…
      ull find this one in ur storage mode

  23. Interesting article, i have bookmarked your blog for future referrence 🙂

  24. hey,i’m using N73 ME,i live in Malaysia.I’ve tried everything suggested includes formatted,installed,download n craps.but in d end,nothing..the result is juz blank screen..i zoomed and also got nothing.i wonder if i need to adjust any setting either for network,navigation and route?somebody help..pls…

Leave a Reply

