Quickmark – Another Useless Application? NO!

After reading this post please read the comments too because there’s some powerful information there. Thanks

Today I got a weird comment on one of my posts and some person (or something like that) told me to try Quickmark – a barcode reader…

I knew that it’s a spam message and I deleted the link he gave with his name (you can’t fool me 🙂 ), but I still gave it a chance and tried the application. A total dissapointment. First of all it doesn’t work 😐 at least not with my N73…second: why would I need another barcode reader and who uses the barcode reader anyway? Doesn’t matter…

Please if some of you readers would try and have a different opinion on this software, please tell me and I’ll apologize, but until then, I keep my opinion that this application is a waste of time.

If you want to try the application, you can find it here

4 Responses

  1. Hi, I have QuickMark on my N73 and it works just fine. What kind of barcode did you try scanning? It is a 2D barcode reader for codes such as QR Code and Data Matrix , so it won’t read the 1D (EAN/UPC) barcodes. Even if it was a QR Code that you tried, what was the module size? (Each black/white dot is called a module). Different phones have different lens capability so their mileage may vary when it comes to dense barcodes with miniature modules. N73 is blessed with AF, so it should fare better than most phones. When using QuickMark, press the joystick for AF, but you don’t need to press any other keys to “take a snapshot” for it to decode. And why do I prefer QuickMark over the built-in application? Because QuickMark has better performance and more advanced features. Barcode readers are probably not as useful outside of Japan at this time, but it is still a nice-to-have utility. I think it is perfectly okay if you do not like an application, but saying something “doesn’t work” without giving any information on what/how you tested the software may seem slightly unfair.

  2. As I said in my post. If you say it works…then I believe you.

    I AM SORRY 🙂

    The truth is that I didn’t have much time to try it, that’s why I asked for some help from you readers. And here it is. Someone who says that it works.

    Thank you.

  3. I have to also say that this tech works and I see many potential uses for it. I am looking to take things for others to be able “read” the information from and thereby preventing copy errors and also increase speed.

    I really would advise a second look and some time to think creative aspects for its use. this is going to be a powerful technology as it comes west.

  4. what does this application do anyway?
    It reads what? A BARCODE?
    What’s a barcode anyway?
    Why did someone post that the “BARCODE READER” is only useful inside japan?????
    hmmm…

Leave a Reply

