GDesk – Making My Own Theme

Hi all. It’s been a while since I made a new post and I apologize for that. I am a bit occupied with other stuff, but this on just had to be told:

I came across an application called Gdesk and started creating my own theme… After about a day of doing nothing else, the first functional theme appeared.

The problem is that no one really has made a theme for Symbian devices (at least you can’t find any on the net)…so I had to make my own. And it’s not bad at all.Β  You can basically make your phone look exactly the way you want to.

Here’s how my theme looks:

If this is not enough, here’s a video I posted to Youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AS4GyTfPJzg (for some reason, I wasn’t able to embed the video…)

The Features:

  • You can customize your theme the way you want to by being able to add/remove applications, pages and others, and move the applications wherever you want to.
  • You can also add an icon for the applications and others, making the look and feel of the theme very very nice. (what I liked is that .png icons are supported making it possible to use transparency)
  • Windows-like start menu.
  • Tons of options for customizing.

The Problems:

  • Sometimes it freezes.
  • They didn’t make a plugin for the battery and signal-meter, plus no plugin to tell you when you have a message or a missed call. Pretty unfortunate.

How to create a theme:

  • You open Gdesk and press the start menu -> design (this means you have started the customization)
  • The next time you press the start menu, lots of options will appear. If you play around with the options like add application, you will get it quite quick and make the theme you want.
  • After adding an application, you have several options:
    • adding an icon to make it look the way you want
    • assigning a shortcut key
    • moving it around on the desktop (with the number keys: 1,2,3,4,6,7,8,9)
  • You can create more pages, adding different applications to different pages,but be careful to create links between pages so you can navigate easily.
  • And many more but you have to be patient and spend some time making the small changes one at a time.

Download GDesk from here.

[Update]

Changed the homescreen. Here’s the new one:

Download HTC Black BETA!!!

(Note: you have to sign up for my-symbian…)

Sign up here

14 Responses

  1. wow can u please put ur theme so people can download it? i think its one of the best ive ever seen seriously

  2. can u please put this as download

  3. Just thought I’d add that actually, if you download v0.33 you can have signal and battery icons ;o)

  4. @ 86hitman,

    Thanks, I’ll make an update and maybe add a screen-shot with the new version cause I made it with battery and signal icon as well the missed call and new e-mail icons.

    @ kevin,

    Not yet because I’m still working on it. as soon as I’ll have a plugin which shows missed calls and e-mails, ( which I hope someone will make over at the my-symbian site) I will post the Gdd files and tell you which theme to use to have the same icons as mine.

    And I know that it’s a stupid question but is there anyone who can make a plugin I would need?

  5. Dude we’d still totally love to take a look at it even without the missed calls thing! I for one wouldn’t mind… please!! It’s the best looking one out there!

    Nokia should be paying you to design their apps!

    pleasepleasepleasepleaseplease

  6. Nokia shouldn’t pay me for this…in fact HTC should sew me πŸ™‚
    basically the theme is like their windows mobile one with a few differences…

  7. how did u make this………..wow
    could u post any tutorial or sumthing like tht

  8. dud…pls ca u help me download youre theme..cause..i`ve registered on the website..but i stil don`t have the activision mail…ca u put a link to this page pls?

  9. i put the folder HTC black in memory card, and then i opened GDesk and went to: start menu> design> load design> memory card> HTC black> HTC.gdd But nothing changed!!!!!! please help!!!!!

  10. how the f do u download this theme

  11. how can i download it?

  12. Fantastic theme
    adipoli aayittundu
    Kahan se ye idea mila

  13. Sweet blog. I never know what I am going to come across next. I think you should do more posting as you have some pretty intelligent stuff to say.

    I’ll be watching you . πŸ™‚

  14. bedobela, what about the htc .gdd file . Where is link to download. I AM CREAZY ABOUT THIS THEME.. plz send me the download link

Leave a Reply

